Interreg Slovenia
de  |  en  |  slo
Schlaining Castle
Learning in the "Peace Castle"
Legendary owner

Schlaining Castle, near the town of Oberwart, is located at a formerly strategically important point at the intersection of several trade routes connecting Szombathely (Steinamanger), Graz, Wiener Neustadt and Sopron (Ödenburg). Schlaining Castle was first mentioned in 1271 as "castrum Zloynuk". At that time it was owned by the Lords of Güns-Güssing. In the 15th century, Andreas Baumkircher acquired the fortress. Many legends surround his name in the region still today, especially in connection with the so-called "Baumkircher feud" (1469-1471) against Emperor Frederick III, which finally led to Baumkircher's execution in Graz. His granddaughter Barbara was then able to hold on to the property for a while, but after years of litigation from 1527 to 1544 she had to cede it to the noble Batthyány family, who remained the owners for over 300 years. Only after the execution of Ludwig Batthyány in 1849, the castle again fell to new owners, including the Hungarian Chamber, the railroad pioneer Dr. Franz Schmidt, Dr. Demeter Selesky and the Hungarian Hermesbank, as well as the former Austrian Federal Minister DDDr. Udo Illig.

Since 1980, the castle has belonged to the Federal State of Burgenland and is run as a museum. It also offers several seminar and conference rooms. The idea of creating a Friedensburg came from Dr. Gerald Mader, the regional councillor for culture. In 1983, the "Austrian Study Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution (ASPR)" was established in Burg Schlaining. Thus, a place of encounter and respectful dialogue was created. 
Anniversary exhibition 100 years Burgenland
After extensive renovation, Schlaining Castle in southern Burgenland, which was first mentioned in a document 750 years ago, is the venue for the anniversary exhibition "We are 100. Burgenland makes history". Visitors can look forward to a show covering 1,300 square meters that uses multimedia to illuminate Burgenland's 100-year history and bring it to life. The focus of this exhibition on the occasion of the 100th anniversary is above all on the people. The collection tells the success story of many generations of people who have lived and worked in Burgenland and focuses on gripping life stories and memories of Burgenland personalities.

With 850 objects from over 120 lenders in 160 showcases as well as 30 media stations, Burgenland's history is vividly told.
Moments when Burgenland was in the spotlight of world events, such as during the Hungarian Uprising in 1956, the fall of the Iron Curtain in 1989 or the refugee crisis in 2015, are just as much part of the exhibition's repertoire as the impressive development of Burgenland from a backward region to one of the most innovative and livable regions in Europe. The cultural, linguistic and religious diversity also finds a place in the anniversary exhibition.

For the first time, the audio guide offers a guided tour not only in German and English, but also in Hungarian, Croatian, Romanes and sign language.

For more information on the exhibition "We are 100. Burgenland makes history", please visit

Further information on events, guided tours and children's programs can be found here
Contact & Info
Schlaining Castle
Rochusplatz 1, A 7461 Stadtschlaining
Phone: +43 3355 2306

Opening hours (no winter break): 
Monday - Rest day (except public holidays)
Tuesday - Sunday from 9am - 5pm  
Schlaining Castle (Burgenland)
Google Maps load

(I agree to the use of Google Maps)
Burgenland Stiftung
Slovenia Austria bilingual
Thermenland Vulkanland
Genuss Card
Schlosshotels & Herrenhäuser